On my way back home from the theatre, I had almost decided I won’t write about this film on my blog. Because I wouldn’t have been able to. My emotions were to the brim.
I got home and straight ran to mom and hugged her. She cutely told me, “I’ve never seen you react this way after a film, I’m certain now, I can’t watch it.”

Well, Neerja had me choking every minute of the film. I knew she’s a martyr, hence I was eagerly looking forward to witnessing her brave journey towards death. Ram Madhvani (Director),  Saiwyn Qadras (story), Sanyukta Shaikh Chawla (dialogue), their work increases from here because the end is universally known, and so, how are you going to still convincingly tell a story, is the question. To hold a person’s attention and even emotionally engage them when it’s actually happening, isn’t an easy job. And haven’t they just nailed it!

I’m sorry to say this, I think Sonam Kapoor is gorgeous otherwise, but in Neerja, as Neerja, she is a great performer too. Neerja is the best film of her career so far!
At no point was she, over the top dramatic, or forcefully trying to be the hero.

sonam-kapoor-neerja-759

I loved how the narrative played out, taking us into her flashback. Each time she found herself in a fix, we go back to a similar situation of man domination or self-respect exploitation, glimpses from her past arose and each time she’d come out of it stronger and tougher and try her best to do what is right and not what is easy.

I absolutely adored how she breaks into Rajesh Khanna dialogues every now and then. I feel that fandom!

But my hero of the film was Shabana Azmi. The speech in the end had me in the pool of my own tears. This guy sitting next to me, would turn around every 10 seconds to see if I’ve not passed out sobbing. 

Shabana-Azmi-3

“Zindagi lambi nahi, badi honi chahiye” is my favourite dialogue from Anand. Look Neerja lived it! Look, she didn’t die. “Marrne se pehle, marrna nahi hai mujhe!”
All these quotes I often read and get inspired by – she lived them. I was jumping off my seat with joy. Death is inevitable, what’s important is ‘how’ we die. How useful was our existence! What have we done?
This lady died a grand death.

I’m so glad, I witnessed her story. I kept wondering post the film, what about Neerja’s dreams? It’s her birthday in two days! What about Jaideep who is so much in love with her? Life is giving her a second chance at love and a good one, what about them? Her future? Her kindness? Her mom?

This actually happened!
That 22 year old girl on that plane must have scanned the above questions and nullified them, because ‘it’s a matter of principles.’

The slideshow of Neerja Bhanot’s real pictures in the end credits were heart-wrenching.

Forever inspiring story.

Neerja on IMDB

 

Neerja_Bhanot_(1963_–_1986)
1963-1986

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Neerja (2016)

  1. It’s been over 20 hours since I finished watching it but I still haven’t been able to write a review on this,which I surely will soon.

    Such has been it’s impact that I am spellbound till now. Uff, this movie is just too good for a real life story.

    And that girl Neerja Bhanot deserves our tears & time with this movie as she is indeed a huge inspiration to all.

    Kudos to the makers of Neerja, you’ve done a job which cannot be criticized even a bit according to me & which should give you all the awards next year. My review will be all about praising this gem.

    Uff,what a start to 2016:- Airlift & now Neerja.

    Wait, you’ve been to Mami so let me ask this:- I loved Shahid & I loved Citylights even more. Should I have the same expectations from Aligarh? Plz say Yes. Hehe.

    Like

    1. I’m eagerly looking forward to Aligarh from the Censor Board’s POV. Let’s see what they make of it. LOL.

      Don’t expect, just observe and enjoy. 🙂

      Also, write a review of Neerja for my blog? Pleasee? 🙂

      Like

  2. Yes, already quite a fews issues for Aligarh with the Censor Board so Ya, let’s hope for the best.

    Oh, I’ve just finished writing a long review, will mail it to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

