MV5BMTllZTU2NjAtMDhiNC00NjZiLTg4NjAtOThjODEzODUxNmRhL2ltYWdlL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMzI3NjY2ODc@._V1_QL50_SY1000_CR0,0,1499,1000_AL_.jpg

I heard long back that the director of Whiplash, Damien Chazelle, made this film. But honestly, I conveniently forgot. It didn’t even come back to me when I saw J.K Simmons play a restaurant owner, bearing a tit-bit resemblance to his role in that film.

mv5bmjaxnzziytmtnddizs00m2nhltg3nwqtmjqwntu2zjg2nte1l2ltywdll2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyndqzmdg4nzk-_v1_ql50_

And I’m glad I didn’t remember any of it. I walked into the theatre with a blank mind and great curiosity for musicals. The last good one I watched and loved was Moulin Rouge! back in college. As I rewind back, I realise, it must’ve not been the songs as much as it was the story. Same, I’m happy, is the case with La La Land – its beautiful, heart-aching story.

The conflict between heart and mv5bm2nhmjvmnjetmjmwnc00oddjlwe2zdytyzkynzi0yjzjnwmyl2ltywdll2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymzi3njy2odc-_v1_ql50_mind. Achieving dreams and weaving an ideal future.
I’ve often had this debate with friends ‘why does one let go off whom they love to achieve their dreams? what is this practicality? why do they say that “this is the right thing to do?” ‘who told you that?’  mv5bnzgxnmrkodgtyjyxyy00odewlwe3mzktnzu2ztgwmmjlzwm5l2ltywdll2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyndqzmdg4nzk-_v1_ql50_
I’ve heard and accepted some rational reasoning but none completely satisfying.
And so the last 10 minutes of this film are my most favourite 10 mins of ANY film!
It explores the ‘what if’. What if both did work out together? ‘What if I didn’t taunt you over being a loser and you didn’t feel like a failure with me?’ ‘whmv5bytywztuzmjgtnmyymc00ogrilwjknzetyjq1zgq4mgnhotiwl2ltywdll2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyndqzmdg4nzk-_v1_ql50_at if we worked it out together?’ ‘what if sitting on that bench, looking at the great view, I didn’t ask you to follow your dreams, instead I asked us to follow our dreams and discuss the sorrows of it and overcome them together?’

What if that was considered as an option..

MV5BMzExOTU3YTgtNzFkYy00ZGIxLTgyYTYtOGY1OWVjNmVmYzg4XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjI3MTIxNzE@._V1_QL50_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,716_AL_.jpgWords can’t do justice to the beauty that this one is.
Some may find it a bit too long, but the camera work will catch your attention soon enough to make you forget that.
Emma Stone – I really really liked in this one.
She’s gorgeous, charming and contagious.
Ryan Gosling is, well, Ryan Gosling.

“Here’s to the ones that dream, foolish as they may seem,
Here’s to the hearts that ache, here’s to the mess we make.”

🙂

Let this haunt you for a while.

La La Land on IMDB

Also, I have been raving about this, so just one last time, Jagga Jasoos is a musical and I can hardly contain my excitement to watch it!

Leave a Reply

