I’ve been unwell on and off for the past 3 months. I brought in the new year with a chronic stomach infection because of which I couldn’t savour any of those fancy dishes my friends and family were hogging over. I was hoping to get better in 2017 but in the first month itself my health got worse. I had severe pain in my right kidney and I was admitted in a hospital. The infection had reached my kidney. The treatment is still on, but after a week I was discharged. This was day before. All I could think of on the hospital bed was all the films that have released while I’m stuck in here. The first chance I got, I went and watched a film. It had to be xXx because – Deepika Padukone.
I cannot ruin my OK Kanmani experience by watching OK Jaanu and I had watched Haraamkhor a year back at MAMI.  mv5bzgmwogmymtgtzjdhms00ndg4ltgxyzitmdcwzwfhmtrmzwywl2ltywdll2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvynza1njy5mtu-_v1_ql50_

Covered in a big fat hoodie I sat in a theatre atPVR Lower Parel eagerly waiting for Deepika Padukone’s grand Hollywood debut. She did create magic when she came onscreen but there were only few such instances. The entire film rode on Vin Diesel’s deserving shoulders.
Also, the thing I realised (not being anti-national) while watching the film is that Indians are in majority average looking. I’m smitten by Deepika, precisely because there are very few women as perfect in every aspect as her, but suddenly in Hollywood every other person’s drop dead gorgeous. I mean Ruby Rose is equally hot! So kudos to Deepika for still looking so irresistible. She’s throwing knives and kicking butts, all while being a seductress. She’s kept her Indian accent intact and hasn’t forced any Videsipan on herself, which is commendable. But there’s nothing more to her character. mv5bymnmndaxmtetnmrjmi00ytm5lwi1mzitytrlyzgynzfjoguzxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvynji0mjk2mtu-_v1_ql50_
She’s Vin Diesel’s love interest but she never takes decisions. If her character didn’t exist, the film would go on as is. 

Vin Diesel did a fine job! He’s cute and charming and ferocious all at once. The action scenes aren’t too monotonous or repetitive and they didn’t feel too draggy.

Same old, group of heroes save the day – insider is the culprit – find and defeat insider – save the world while you’re at it – lose a few good men – get the girl.
There’s nothing new to this story but it was done in style.

It’s a good Sunday afternoon chill scene at home.

MV5BM2RhNGNmNDUtM2NkYy00YTY2LTkyMTMtYjU5Nzg3NjkzYTQ2XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjQ2MjQ5NzM@._V1_QL50_SY1000_SX1000_AL_.jpg

I really really hope Deepika bags something better for her Hollywood dreams to work out!

xXx: Return of Xander Cage on IMDB

Leave a Reply

